Media alert: China conquers India

          

Palo Alto, Shanghai, Singapore and Reading (UK) – Tuesday, 24 January 2017


In Q4 2016, Indian smart phone vendors were pushed out of the top five as Chinese vendors continued to grab market share with extremely price-competitive devices. Local vendors have also been hit hard by the Indian government’s decision to demonetize the INR500 and INR1,000 (US$7.30 and US$14.65) banknotes.

“Local brands’ target customers typically buy in cash and from independent retailers. With the short-term liquidity crunch caused by demonetization, these retailers are suffering a slowdown in consumer spending. Local vendors are losing out as retailers look to shift their stock to fast-moving, current devices,” said Canalys Analyst Rushabh Doshi. “In Q4 2015, Micromax, Intex and Lava took second, third and fifth place, accounting for almost 30% of the market. One year on and all three vendors have dropped out of the top five, with their collective share falling to around 11%.”

Samsung continues to lead the market with shipments of around 6.2 million units and a 22% share, in line with the previous quarter. Second-placed Xiaomi’s focus on Indian expansion continued to pay off as it reached the 3.0-million-unit mark, growing by more than 230% year on year. Oppo was the best-performing vendor in the top five, shipping 2.6 million units, up from 150,000 a year ago, and a 150% increase from the previous quarter. Lenovo finished fourth with just under 2.6 million units shipped, followed by Vivo, which shipped just over 2 million smart phones.

“Oppo’s intensive brand-building has paid off. In the past year, it has sponsored popular TV shows, T20 cricket and signed up local celebrities Hrithik Roshan and Sonam Kapoor to build popularity,” said Research Analyst Lucio Chen. “Beyond sponsorships, Oppo has also driven strong channel expansion activities, investing in channel marketing initiatives and securing vital shelf space with local mobile retailers. While this is a capital-intensive approach, the significance of building a brand in India cannot be underestimated.”

For more information, please contact:

  • Canalys EMEA: +44 118 984 0520

Ben Stanton: ben_stanton@canalys.com +44 118 984 0525
Tim Coulling: tim_coulling@canalys.com +44 118 984 0533

  • Canalys APAC (Shanghai): +86 21 2225 2888

Nicole Peng: nicole_peng@canalys.com +86 21 2225 2815
Jessie Ding: jessie_ding@canalys.com +86 21 2225 2814

  • Canalys APAC (Singapore): +65 6671 9399

Rushabh Doshi: rushabh_doshi@canalys.com +65 6671 9387
Ishan Dutt: ishan_dutt@canalys.com +65 6671 9396

  • Canalys Americas: +1 650 681 4488

Chris Jones: chris_jones@canalys.com +1 650 681 4489

About Canalys

Canalys is an independent analyst company that strives to guide clients on the future of the technology industry and to think beyond the business models of the past. We deliver smart market insights to IT, channel and service provider professionals around the world. Our customer-driven analysis and consulting services empower businesses to make informed decisions and generate sales. We stake our reputation on the quality of our data, our innovative use of technology and our high level of customer service.

To view the chart(s) from this media alert, and others from Canalys, download the new Insight @Canalys app today from the Apple App Store, the Google Play store or as an HTML 5 web app.

Receiving updates

To receive media alerts directly, or for more information about our events, services or custom research and consulting capabilities, please complete the contact form on our web site.

Alternatively, you can e-mail press@canalys.com or call +1 650 681 4488 (Palo Alto, California, USA), +65 6671 9399 (Singapore), +86 21 2225 2888 (Shanghai, China) or +44 118 984 0520 (Reading, UK).

PDF version
275KB
For more information:
e-mail press@canalys.com
Or call:
Canalys APAC: Singapore Tel: +65 6671 9399 or
Shanghai, China Tel: +86 21 2225 2888
Canalys Americas: Palo Alto, USA Tel: +1 650 681 4488
Canalys EMEA: Reading, UK Tel: +44 118 984 0520