Xiaomi becomes number two smartphone vendor for first time ever in Q2 2021 

Shanghai (China), Bengaluru (India), Singapore, Reading (UK) and Portland (US) – Thursday, 15 July 2021

In Q2 2021, global smartphone shipments increased 12%, as vaccines rolled out around the world, and the new normal for economies and citizens started to take shape. Samsung was the leading vendor with a 19% share of smartphones shipped. Xiaomi took second place for the first time ever, with a 17% share. Apple was third, with 14%, while Vivo and Oppo maintained strong growth momentum to complete the top five.

“Xiaomi is growing its overseas business rapidly,” said Canalys Research Manager Ben Stanton. “For example, its shipments increased more than 300% in Latin America, 150% Africa and 50% in Western Europe. And as it grows, it evolves. It is now transforming its business model from challenger to incumbent, with initiatives such as channel partner consolidation and more careful management of older stock in the open market. It is still largely skewed toward the mass market, however, and compared with Samsung and Apple, its average selling price is around 40% and 75% cheaper respectively. So a major priority for Xiaomi this year is to grow sales of its high-end devices, such as the Mi 11 Ultra. But it will be a tough battle, with Oppo and Vivo sharing the same objective, and both willing to spend big on above-the-line marketing to build their brands in a way that Xiaomi is not. All vendors are fighting hard to secure component supply amid global shortages, but Xiaomi already has its sights set on the next prize: displacing Samsung to become the world’s largest vendor.”

Worldwide smartphone shipments and growth
Canalys Preliminary* Smartphone Market Pulse: Q2 2021

Vendor

Q2 2021 shipments

(% share)

Annual growth

Samsung 

19%

+15%

Xiaomi

17%

+83%

Apple

14%

+1%

Oppo

10%

+28%

Vivo

10%

+27%

Note: percentages may not add up to 100% due to rounding

Source: Canalys estimates (sell-in shipments), Smartphone Analysis, July 2021

 *Preliminary estimates are subject to change upon final release.

For more information, please contact:

Canalys UK
Ben Stanton: ben_stanton@canalys.com +44 7824 114 350
Runar Bjørhovde: runa_bjorhovde@canalys.com +44 7787 290 115

Canalys China
Nicole Peng: nicole_peng@canalys.com +86 150 2186 8330
Amber Liu: amber_liu@canalys.com +86 136 2177 7745

Canalys India
Rushabh Doshi: rushabh_doshi@canalys.com +91 99728 54174
Sanyam Chaurasia: sanyam_chaurasia@canalys.com +91 89820 33054 

Canalys Singapore
Shengtao Jin: shengtao_jin@canalys.com +65 6657 9303
Le Xuan Chiew: lexuan_chiew@canalys.com +65 9655 6264

Canalys USA
Brian Lynch: brian_lynch@canalys.com +1 650 927 5489
Marcy Ryan: marcy_ryan@canalys.com +1 650 862 4299

About Canalys

Canalys is an independent analyst company that strives to guide clients on the future of the technology industry and to think beyond the business models of the past. We deliver smart market insights to IT, channel and service provider professionals around the world. We stake our reputation on the quality of our data, our innovative use of technology and our high level of customer service.

Receiving updates

To receive media alerts directly, or for more information about our events, services or custom research and consulting capabilities, please contact us. Alternatively, you can email press@canalys.com.

 

Please click here to unsubscribe

 


Copyright © Canalys. All rights reserved.


 

 

For more information:
e-mail press@canalys.com

 

PDF download

 Xiaomi becomes number two smartphone vendor for first time ever in Q2 2021 

 


Share this article